Expenditures Rising For Back And Neck Problems, But Health Outcomes Do Not Appear To Be Improving

New article in Science Daily telling us Egoscue folks what we already know. There are a lot of people hurting out there, but the traditional methods used to ‘treat’ these kinds of pain are ineffective. I very rarely get a new client who makes us the first stop on their journey. Indeed, my journey took a similar path. After my car accident, I was in physical therapy 6 days a week for well over a year. I wracked up tens of thousands of dollars of medical bills, and all that “therapy” did little to improve my health and function and reduce my pain. Once I found Egoscue, everything changed. Instead of needing a massage a week just to stay out of severe spasm, I now get one or two a year, usually for relaxation and detoxification purposes. When I started with Egoscue, I was seeing a chiropractor 2-3 times a week. After my first Egoscue appointment, I cut that back to once a month.

The problem is, all these “treatments” referenced in the article are merely treating symptom. They aren’t even attempting to address the core reason why people hurt. So it’s no surprise that the results are marginal at best.

Here’s the message: if you have pain, I understand the desire to treat symptom. Pain is, well, pain and it’s something most of us would like to eliminate as quickly as possible. But realize that pain isn’t the problem, it’s a message about the problem. Listen and respond intelligently. Fix root cause and the pain will go away and stay away and you’ll be able to return to doing the things you love to do.

Expenditures Rising For Back And Neck Problems, But Health Outcomes Do Not Appear To Be Improving:

Expenditures Rising For Back And Neck Problems, But Health Outcomes Do Not Appear To Be Improving
ScienceDaily (Feb. 12, 2008) — Although expenses related to back and neck problems have increased substantially in the last decade, outcomes such as functional disability and work limitations do not appear to be improving, according to a new study.

Technorati Tags:

Explore posts in the same categories: Nutrition and Health, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

