A client’s first visit

One of our clinic directors forwarded me this link. A client visited their clinic and wrote about it on her blog. It’s a great story that I think a lot of clients can relate to. You can read it here.

And if the client who read this happens to read this entry, I want to tell her “congratulations on taking responsibility for your own health, knowing what you do and don’t want and not settling for less.”

And now it’s time to work.

One thing I LOVED about her story is the emphasis on listening. At an Egoscue Clinic, one thing you will DEFINITELY get is someone who wants to hear what you have to say, what YOU think the problem is and what you think needs to change to resolve it. I’ve had clients sit across my desk and when I ask them “what do you want to accomplish today?”, their response is “I want you to fix me.” I just laugh. My standard response to this is “I’ve been the clinic director here for over 4 years. I haven’t fixed one person in that time and I’m not about to start with you.” Sometimes they get it and sometimes they don’t. I then say “it’s not MY job to fix you, and the very use of the word ‘fix’ implies brokenness, and I don’t think you’re broken. But what I will do is show you how to take ownership over this situation and how to start taking action to making it better. But YOU are the one who will be doing the work. I’m just going to help you figure out what work to do and help guide you down that path. It’s a journey we will be taking together, as a team.”

This woman started a journey at this clinic and she joined a TEAM that will listen to her, respond to her and work with her. She’s not alone with this anymore.

I wish her all the success she deserves and earns.

Technorati Tags:

Explore posts in the same categories: Egoscue, Testimonials

2 Comments on “A client’s first visit”

  1. The client! Says:

    Dear Rick,

    I am that client with the blog. I wanted to thank you so much for your support. The very sad state of much of our society is that we are convinced that we need to be fixed and are uncapable of helping our selves. It’s an incredibally depressing phenomenon in our culture and one that is growing progressively worse. Kids at younger and younger ages are being fixed with orthotics, with glasses, with prescription medication. We really have to fight to keep our physical dignity in this society, and hence why I am so impressed by the Egoscue method. It gives the power back to us. Now, I am not religious nor overtly political (spirituality is another matter), but this theme runs deep in these segments of world history. As I am so often torn between what to believe in and how to lead my life – Mr. Egoscue is a role model in his ability to transform his ‘disability’ into a successful and healthy life despite living in the western world.
    Kudos to Mr. Egoscue, and to you and your therapists for giving clients this power. It can be a very good gift indeed.

  2. Rick Says:

    thanks so much for your comment! I usually get an email telling me there is a comment awaiting approval but in this case I didn’t get one, so I apologize for the delay in getting it up. I love your thought process, keep up the great work. And next time you’re in clinic for an appointment, call me up in Austin on the video conferencing that connects all of the clinics and say hi!


Leave a Reply

