A video on health that you need to watch

This is a youtube video that I think is important enough to watch that I am posting it here.

Now, first, a word. It’s put together by the folks at mercola.com. It think that site has a lot of good information, but I don’t take everything Mercola says as gospel and I do disagree with him on some things. Me posting this video here is not intended to be an endorsement of the book shown at the end or of Dr Mercola or his website and services. That said, neither am I saying you should not read his works. I think he is right far more than he is wrong, and if Americans in general followed his advice I think most people’s health would dramatically improve.

This video makes some pretty damning (and near as I can tell, accurate) statements about the state of “health” care in this country. There is no question in my mind that our health care system is being hijacked by Big Pharma and that many people are grossly overmedicated and that many physicians are far too quick to pull out the prescription pad instead of trying to help educate their patients on how to genuinely fix their problems and not just chemically mask them. However, only a fool would assert that all prescription medications are evil. Yes, medical mistakes, drug side effects, etc…, kill many people. They also save lives. Mine is one of them. There have been two times in my life where I would’ve died without prescription medications. One was when a case of pneumonia went misdiagnosed (yes, a medical error) for so long that I needed to stay several days in the hospital on IV antibiotics to get it under control. On another, I contracted a drug-resistant staph infection on my left knee. Had I waited another day to go to the hospital I would’ve lost my leg and possibly died. I was in the hospital on IV antibiotics for 5 days, and on them at home through home health care for another 3 weeks before the infection was finally controlled. The pneumonia was about 15 years ago, the staph infection maybe 8. Yes, I’ve changed some lifestyle habits such that the odds of me having such issues in the future are markedly less, but I am still grateful for the high quality of care I received from many medical professionals, and I am grateful for the drugs that kept me alive.

So, as in all things, balance, right? I’m not anti-doctor, anti-pill, anti-surgery. Some of my best friends are physicians! Sorry, I just had to say that. It’s true, but still…..

My philosophy is pretty simple. I’m glad we have physicians who have gone through extraordinary training and sacrifice to be able to practice their craft. I’m grateful for the research that has yielded the drugs and surgical procedures that have genuinely helped so many. But yes, these tools are FAR overused. People, stop treating symptoms. Improve your diet, stop putting toxic things in and on your bodies, start putting healthful things in, and get moving! Then use the medical system as the way it should be used, as a tool to help when healthy lifestyle choices are not enough.

So with all that said, watch this video. It’s about 5 minutes long. You’ll be glad you did.

Technorati Tags:

Explore posts in the same categories: Nutrition and Health

2 Comments on “A video on health that you need to watch”


  1. […] Tom Negrino wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThis video makes some pretty damning (and near as I can tell, accurate) statements about the state of “health” care in this country. There is no question in my mind that our health care system is being hijacked by Big Pharma and that … […]


  2. […] Tom Negrino wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThis video makes some pretty damning (and near as I can tell, accurate) statements about the state of “health” care in this country. There is no question in my mind that our health care system is being hijacked by Big Pharma and that … […]


Leave a Reply

