A clarification

When you have a blog, you have the ability to see stats on how people find your blog, what search terms they use, what website referred them, etc…

I consistently see some people find this blog because they are searching on the name “Rick Mathes”. If you Google that name, what you’ll find are a ton of links to a man with that same name who evidently works in Christian prison ministries and penned an article about a supposed encounter with a Muslim Imam. I just want to clarify, I am NOT that guy. I don’t work in prison ministries, though I applaud those who do. I have not had an encounter with a Muslim Imam, though I would certainly welcome such a man into our clinic with the same respect we afford all our clients, regardless of their choice of faith or spiritual beliefs.

But I will say this. The letter this other Rick Mathes wrote? It’s been widely spread but I sure wish the guy had a different name because, frankly, I don’t like his letter. Now I’ll clarify something, I’m a Christian. And as a Christian, I feel one of my most compelling duties is to love others and to do what I can to help create a world that tomorrow has more peace, love and joy in it than it had today. I find this letter in question polarizing and inaccurate and dangerous. First, there are serious questions regarding if the events even happened as depicted. To that end, I refer you to snopes.com. Second, it treats Muslims as one monolithic entity, as if all Muslims believe the same things. People treat Christians that way, too, and we sure know THAT isn’t true. There are Christians whom I admire, and some who call themselves by that name whom I think are absolutely nuts.

The events of 9/11 made it very easy for many of us to give in to the darker parts or ourselves, to view other people with distrust based on their choice of religion, clothing or the color of their skin or nation of origin. I want to be very clear here: I condemn such judgments and I don’t want my name associated with them in any way.

Our clinic welcomes clients regardless of your religion, your nationality, your race, your sexual preference, or any other issues people commonly use to discriminate. If you want to improve your health and want us to help you, it is our privilege to do so. The whole judgment thing? I have enough to deal with trying to get myself right without worrying about what other people are doing. That will all shake out in the end. In the meantime, let’s do what we can to support and love and help each other during some very interesting and challenging times.

Peace.

Technorati Tags:

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Leave a Reply

