Theresa update

Many of our friends and clients know but I wanted to set the context for the rest of you.

My wife, fellow therapist and clinic owner, Theresa, is having spine surgery tomorrow. Your prayers and positive energy are most appreciated. Surgery is scheduled for 7am.

Theresa had an accident years back and a piece of bone dislodged from one of the bones in her neck. The hope was that it would be absorbed by the body but in 2005 it lodged in her spinal cord and caused serious problems and had to be removed. The problem was the only way to get to it was through a disc that was perfectly healthy, so they had to remove the disc to get to it and then do a fusion. Well, the fusion caused problems with the level above so 9 months later they fused the level above. The entire time Theresa is complaining about severe neck pain and a feeling of instability. The Xrays looked fine, showed no problems, so the surgeon shrugged his shoulders and said the problem wasn’t surgical, best of luck to you.

So earlier this year we finally consult with a new surgeon who orders a CT scan instead of an xray and we find out that lo and behold, the two fusions never fused. Theresa has been walking around with what essentially amounts to a broken neck in two places for the last 3 years. So, the surgery tomorrow is to correct these issues.

Obviously we’re not happy that things have led to this point but we are grateful that we’ve discovered this and found a surgeon in whom we are confident. We’re looking forward to getting this done and behind us and getting Theresa’s neck finally stabilized. She’s an amazingly strong woman to have kept persevering over these last few years. It’s been beyond difficult and she has my deep admiration and respect, in addition to my love.

I’ve had a lot of people ask me to give them updates on how she’s doing and I just can’t individually update that many people, so I’ve said I would do it here on the blog. Hence, this preliminary post. I wanted what I post tomorrow after the surgery to make sense to those who weren’t already aware of what’s happening.

I’ll post an update after I hear from the doctor and get a chance to see her tomorrow after the surgery. Thanks to everyone who has been sending us their prayers and well wishes, they are MUCH appreciated!

Technorati Tags:

Explore posts in the same categories: General

One Comment on “Theresa update”

  1. Audrey Says:

    Dear Rick – I’ve been praying for Theresa every few minutes since I woke up this morning, and look forward to hearing how the surgery goes – just wanted you all to know I am thinking of you and praying for you! Love – Audrey


Leave a Reply

